I am a hearing student, who aspires to become a doctor, I have been thinking how poor it is that Medics are not expected to be able to speak at least a basic level of sign. I am learning it because it will make me a more empathetic and caring doctor, more able to effectivley communicate with  those around me in sign if they so choose.

Hospitals are scary places and if someone can communicate with you even a bit to help you feel comfortable I think that is really important. I think it is a skill that I will teach my family and children one day too.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Latest Posts

• https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=in+my+place+coldplay+bsl+signed   Noel is signing what I recognise as 'include and live' instead of 'in' and 'place'.... so frustrating
    • https://www.google.com/search?channel=fs&client=ubuntu&q=more+than+bsl#kpvalbx=_9v1-YPyLG5CAkwWj36SgBw59