Alex Kerr

Sports Directions

Hello,

haven't used BSL since primary school, but have recently had some children who are deaf join a sports club I help with.  They have a translator with them but I was wondering if you could help me out with a few words so if they are watching us coach rather than their translator they will still get what we are saying

Forwards (position) and Go Forwards

Defence

Go back

Black (I believe this is moving your fist along your jawline?)

White

Pairs

Stay Close

Well Done (or is congratulations - thumbs up in moving in circles - good for this?)

Thank you in advance! Alex

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Latest Posts

• Hi there. I have a deaf son but he dosnt use BSL. I also work in a school with hearing impaired unit. I have had the opportunity to learn level 2 at work, and passed. I feel so proud but since passing I don’t seem to be using it as much as I’d like... it seems difficult to find work in my local area working with deaf adults & using level 2 skills
    • Hello everyone. Just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Graham. I work as a Business Analyst on a Games which makes video games for kids. A big part of this is working to make products accessible to everyone regardless of impediment. Part of my work has led me to want to learn BSL and Makaton, as I want to be able to communicate effectively with as many people through my job as possible. I taught myself finger-spelling, and have learned basic signs through sessions at work. But, I've signed up for the online "Introduction to BSL" course.
    • Hello, everyone!

I'm looking for someone to have conversation practice with via Skype ( once a week for something like 1 hour, if possible).