Deaf awareness week and makaton

Hi . I work in a large public faced organisation where lots of staff have been learning makaton . I sign ( limited ) both BSL and makaton and have been asked my opinion on whether they should promote that they are “makaton friendly” during Deaf  Awareness Week  in May . I’ve said no. Reasoning that it’s a week to promote Deaf Awareness and that makaton comes from BSL not the other way around.
What do other people think ? 

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Latest Posts

• So i just started learning bsl and i use my left hand as my dominant hand when signing.  do this because I learn by mimicking the the videos i watch directly. Using my left hand feels most comfortable but i write with my right hand? I also use my right hand to sign the alphabet but my left hand to sign number because. Also even though i would like to use my left i feel like right handed is easier to read? i cant do it the other way round Is this ok? And is it possible to train myself to use my right hand when signing to become dominant?
    • Hi everyone.  I am new here and a complete beginner.  I was just wondering if anyone knew of anywhere in the Great Yarmouth area where I can practice please?   Thank you everyone    Alistair 
    • So i just started learning bsl and i use my left hand as my dominant hand when signing.  do this because I learn by mimicking the the videos i watch directly. Using my left hand feels most comfortable but i write with my right hand? Is this ok?
    • Hello! My name is Tara and I am 23 years old. I've always wanted to learn sign language but struggle to motivate myself - are there places to chat with people or does anyone have any tips? Thanks!