Sign in to follow this  
Samuel Rose

I am learning BSL because...

I'm a hearing person who is disabled and chronically ill, and have been since I was very young. I am also an artist, writer and amateur programmer that likes to create comics, games and stories with all my time cooped up indoors- recently I began a project which mainly focused on a group of disabled charatcers, one of which is hard of hearing. I started doing my homework to portray and draw this charatcer signing accurately (to my local sign language at least!) and i ended up really enjoying it.

So, whether you identify as disabled or not- you have my solidarity and I am eager to gain more insights into the Deaf community, as well as many other communities-- both so that my horizons are broadened and so that I can represent them as faithfully as I can in my art and stories.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

• Latest Posts

• I strongly believe that sign language is a very important skill to have - being able to sign allows widening of my communication and also means I do not have to rely on others. I have worked in IT for 15+ years and would like to find better and more effective ways of connecting both sign language and IT.
    • Hi. Im currently learning the beginners course to BSL. Ive been self teaching myself through YouTube but thought id try a more structured course.