Introducing Myself

Hi everyone!

My name is Hayley. I'm just restarting my BSL course, I started at the beginning of the lockdown here, genuinely thinking I would be furloughed and have heaps of time....I didn't get furloughed! So now I stay late once a week at work to get some learning done before my fitness class. 

I've always wanted to learn BSL and I have a friend who teaches me bit (usually swearing) whenever I see her. It's something that has always interested me and I think could be useful in life. I work in a school so it could be useful there.....or I could teach my fiance the sign for 'vodka and slimline tonic please' so he know what I want to drink in a loud bar!

I am struggling to keep all the things I've learnt in my brain but I think using it more would help so I am trying to use the signs I know when I talk. Hopefully that will cement them in my mind a bit better!

Edited by HayHayHayley
Wanted to add something

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Latest Posts

• Hi everyone. I signed up for this course 2 years ago and then life got in the way and I forgot all about it. Now, here I am, determined to give it my best shot. I  have limited experience of BSL (and Makaton) through my various care jobs over the years but I am hoping that this time I will be successful in my studies. I hope to have better communication with my granddaughter who is 5 years old. She is deaf and autistic. She is non verbal and communication (or lack of it) is becoming more and more of a frustration for her and everyone supporting her. I'm in my 60's but I hope that my brain is able to retain at least some of what I am learning!