I am learning BSL because I find it a very useful skill to have. I started taking my daughter to sing and sign classes and we both absolutely loved it. Due to a job change (and COVID) I no longer am able to take her to classes, so thought I would try and carry on learning so I can teach her myself!

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Latest Posts

• Hi! I am new to BSL and would love to learn more as I work in a hospital and believe it would be amazing to communicate with patients who are deaf of non-verbal as it could be the difference between a positive and negative hospital experience.
    • Hi.   I am very new to BSL and want to learn more. I am a hearing person and work in the NHS. I have come across heard of hearing and deaf people and think if we can all sign, woukdnt the world be a nicer and easier pkace to live and communicate in.
    • I definitely wouldn't worry about it too much! I write with my left hand, but sign right hand dominant. Deaf people can still understand the signs (as long as you're making them clear) whether it's left handed or right handed signing. I would try to practice one dominant hand though, as it makes learning a little easier so you know which hand you need to use in conversation. Just go with what feels the most comfortable for you to use, and you'll gradually stick to one hand dominant. It's what I had to do! And I still use my left hand for certain signs when I shouldn't lol Really hope this helped you ☺️