Why I want to learn BSL

Mair

Hi,

I'm new to all of this and I love that this forum helps me see that I am not the only one who is just starting...I have several reasons for wanting to learn...

When I was 16 I learnt the BSL alphabet during a performing arts assignment tour guiding children around a reading village (dressed as a jester) - fun fact!

I shocked myself when a few weeks ago I saw something about the alphabet and just casually did it...and got them all right - not sure how when it's been 25 years and that was literally a 2 day event!

Anyway last year I saw a few posts about signing form people and was inspired, but my sister posted on social media about my 6 year old niece who is hard of hearing (She's actually a very good lip reader so I never even noticed) and how she's learning sign language because she finds it useful as an extra communication tool, so the whole family (My sister and all of her 6 children) are learning with her....I loved that!

I decided to learn a few things to say hello to her but then I thought that instead of just a novelty 'Hello' to impress her I would like to actually learn a real conversation.

I was shocked to learn that BSL wasn't actually a recognised UK language until 2003 when there are 151,000 people who use it as a primary language in the UK...that's not the only people either as lots use it as an additional language.