Kayla Smith

WHY ARE YOU LEARNING BSL?

Why are you learning BSL?  

34 members have voted

1. 1. Why are you learning BSL?

I have wanted to learn BSL for many years now, but was unable to get signed up to any evening classes at college due to over subscription.  I work with CAB and we have no advisers who speak BSL and therefore this creates a barrier for deaf clients if they do not have an interpreter.   

I’m trying to learn BSL as I’m losing my hearing and want to learn before I lose it rather than to try once it’s gone. I am going to try online as I have been unable to get onto a BSL course locally.

• Like 1

Hi there. I have a deaf son but he dosnt use BSL. I also work in a school with hearing impaired unit. I have had the opportunity to learn level 2 at work, and passed. I feel so proud but since passing I don’t seem to be using it as much as I’d like... it seems difficult to find work in my local area working with deaf adults & using level 2 skills

• Like 1

On 12/07/2018 at 08:41, Kayla Smith said:

Why are you learning BSL?

I fell in love with my boyfriend and we where having normal conversations and then we went on a date and we had background music on and I said how wonderful the song was and he told me he couldn’t hear it and told me he was deaf I’m not going to let that stand in the way and I want to be able to communicate with him on a level that he feels more comfortable with 

• Like 4

I want to be able to talk to everyone because everyone is the same . My grandad was deaf and nobody was ever able to talk to him properly I started learning BSL but unfortunately he passed away a few months ago, but BSL has opened up another world of communication for me !

• Like 1